امتداداً لجهودها في تعزيز ريادة الأعمال من خلال تبادل المعرفة، استضافت حاضنة قطر للأعمال، التابعة لبنك قطر للتنمية، جلسة خاصة من سلسلة المتحدثين ضمت المبتكر المرموق وعالم الحاسوب سيباستيان ثرون، وذلك ضمن فعاليات مؤتمر قطر لريادة الأعمال.

ويهدف مؤتمر رواد قطر السنوي إلى تكريم مساهمات رواد الأعمال القطريين الناجحين والجهات الفاعلة الرئيسية والاحتفاء بإنجازاتهم، تشجيعاً للنمو في مختلف قطاعات الأعمال وتعزيز سبل التعاون فيما بينها. وشهد المؤتمر هذا العام، الذي انعقد ما بين 12 و14 نوفمبر، تنظيم عدد من ورشات العمل بإشراف حاضنة قطر للأعمال، والتي كانت سلسلة المتحدثين أبرزها.

ويشغل المبتكر والأستاذ الجامعي وعالم الحاسوب الألماني، سيباستيان ثرون، حالياً منصب رئيس مجلس إدارة شركة “أوداسيتي” ومؤسسها، كما يعمل كأستاذ مساعد في جامعة ستانفورد ومعهد جورجيا للتكنولوجيا. وقد أثمرت منجزاته في مجال السيارات الروبوتية الحائزة على جوائز إلى جانب مساهماته في مجال الخوارزميات الاحتمالية إلى تصنيف مجلة فاست كومباني له كخامس أكثر الأشخاص إبداعاً في عالم الأعمال في عام 2011.

وفي معرض تعليقه على مشاركة ثرون في سلسلة المتحدثين، قال حمد القحطاني، المدير العام لحاضنة قطر للأعمال: “إننا فخورون جداً باستضافتنا لهذه النسخة الخاصة من سلسلة المتحدثين ضمن فعاليات مؤتمر رواد قطر 2019، الذي يعتبر منصة وطنية رئيسية تجمع المئات من رواد الأعمال المحليين للتعارف والتعلم والنمو، والمساهمة في تحقيق التقدم الاقتصادي في البلاد يداً بيد. ولا شك في ثرون هو أحد القادة المبدعين في مجال الروبوتات والذكاء الاصطناعي، والذي من شأن المعرفة والخبرة الواسعة التي يتمتع بها أن تشكل إضافة قيّمة لمجتمع رواد الأعمال المحلي المتنامي ومصدر إلهام وتطور لهم. إننا نرسي معاً أسساً هامة للمستقبل، يكون فيه اقتصادنا الوطني متنوعاً، ومزدهراً بسواعد أبنائه من خلال مبادراتهم ومواهبهم المختلفة.”

وتستضيف سلسلة المتحدثين التي تنظمها حاضنة قطر للأعمال مختصين ورواد أعمال مشهورين من مختلف أنحاء العالم، لإلهام رواد الأعمال الطموحين والشركات الناشئة في قطر من خلال خبراتهم القيّمة وقصص نجاحهم الشخصية. ومنذ تأسيسها عام 2014، عملت حاضنة قطر للأعمال على تطوير منظومة ريادة الأعمال في قطر، وذلك من خلال طرح برامج مختصة تضع بناء الحلول الانسيابية في صميم أسس السوق المستقبلية والاكتفاء الذاتي في كافة القطاعات.

شارك هذه القصة، اختر منصتك!

Fostering entrepreneurism through knowledge-exchange, Qatar Business Incubation Center (QBIC) – a division of Qatar Development Bank (QDB) – hosted a special edition of its successful Speaker Series with distinguished innovator and computer scientist Sebastian Thrun as part of Qatar Entrepreneurship Award and Conference (Rowad Qatar).

An annual QDB initiative, Rowad Qatar highlights the innovative contributions made by successful Qatari entrepreneurs and key industry players to encourage growth and cooperation across business sectors in the country. Held from the 12th till the 14th of November, this year’s conference featured multiple QBIC-led workshops with the Speaker Series as the main highlight.

German innovator, educator and computer scientist, Sebastian Thrun currently serves as Chairman and Co-Founder of Udacity; CEO of the Kitty Hawk Corporation; and is adjunct Professor at Stanford and Georgia Tech Universities. His award-winning work on robotic vehicles and his contributions to probabilistic robotics, earned Thrun the title of Fast Company’s fifth most creative person in the business world in 2011.

Hamad Al-Qahtani, General Manager at QBIC, said: “We are deeply honoured to present this special speaker edition as part of Rowad Qatar 2019 – a major national platform that brings together hundreds of local entrepreneurs to network, learn, grow, and jointly support Qatar’s economic advancement. Sebastian is a creative leader in the field of robotics and artificial intelligence, whose forward-looking industry insights can add significant value to our growing community of entrepreneurs and inspire their own story of business ideation and development. Together, we are laying an important foundation for the future of a truly diversified national economy, fuelled by home-grown initiatives and talents.”

QBIC’s seasonal Speaker Series sessions feature renowned professionals and entrepreneurs from around the world to offer valuable business insights and personal success stories to aspiring local entrepreneurs and promising startups. Since its inception in 2014, QBIC has worked to advance the Qatari entrepreneurial ecosystem through specialized programs that place lean solution-building at the core of future market needs and enhanced self-sufficiency across all sectors.

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!